Revival

Dedicated to reviving the lost art of self-reliance.

Florida King Peach tree ready for spring January 27, 2013

Filed under: Gardening — revivalnatural @ 6:51 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

image

This is one of the trees I just transplanted and it seems to have taken the move ok. I am glad for the more wintery (for the Charleston, SC area anyway) weather we have had over the last week or so. I have been really worried that it will bloom and then be frozen, ruining any chances of me being able to eat a homegrown florida king peach this summer. Check out the buds on this thing.

image

I hope it either holds off a while longer or that spring is early without any major frosts. The last couple winters have been quite mild and a couple weeks ago it was in the 70’s most of the week. Some of my fruits need more chill hours so I hope it stays cool for a while longer or their buds will be immature and unable to produce fruit this year. Wish me luck. I am truely at the mercy of mother nature on this one.

 

Any Thoughts?

