Revival

Dedicated to reviving the lost art of self-reliance.

Sorry I haven’t updated in a while November 1, 2012

Filed under: Gardening — revivalnatural @ 11:01 am

The last few weeks I have been planting, but that is about it.  I have 1 dwarf plum, 3 peach trees, 2 pear trees, 3 blueberry bushes, 1 pomegranate bush, 2 fig trees, and 4 thorn-less blackberry bushes.  

I also moved my rhubarb, asparagus and savory out there and sprinkled some more seeds (Rye and Peas but I forget the varieties) out there to hopefully give a good cover crop and hold the dirt in place while the new plants are getting established.  I put some Swiss Chard and Kale out as well.  Did you know you can eat Ornamental Kale and Flowering Cabbage?  Do be aware that they may have been sprayed at the nursery or have chemical fertilizers used on them so keep this in mind if you’re thinking about giving them a try.  I have been planting flowering plants for beneficial insects as well.  

I will try to remember to take pictures this Sunday. It should finally be nice out again 🙂  I have been leaving the tags on the plants for now so I can ID them all easily.  I want to draw up a little diagram of it for a more long term record of the varieties planted, especially since I am trying to incorporate a large variety.  I think it would be a bad idea to rely on memory alone to know which varieties are planted where and I would like to keep track of performance so in future years I can buy the type that do best in my location if/when I expand or buy replacements.

 

Any Thoughts?

